Jabez’s Prayer: That I May Not Cause Pain

1 Chronicles 4:9 Now Jabez was more honorable than his brothers, and his mother called his name Jabez,[a] saying, “Because I bore him in pain.” 10 And Jabez called on the God of Israel saying, “Oh, that You would bless me indeed, and enlarge my territory, that Your hand would be with me, and that You would keep me from evil, that I may not cause pain!” So God granted him what he requested.

This last part of Jabez’s prayer shows the character of man that he was. Anyone could easily pray the previous points but only those who truly want to be a blessing and who truly want to represent the loving God they serve, will think of others enough to say, “Let me not cause pain.” Pain is the symptom of the enemy’s activity of stealing, killing and destroying. So many people leave a trail of pain in their wake, while going for those things they desire. We may step on others in the mistaken belief that the end justifies the means. Sometimes we are too insensitive to even realize the pain we cause others by our actions and decisions. Often people don’t even pause to consider, repent or restore– asking what can I do to make things better? Unfortunately this is true of believers too, even when they claim to be doing the will of God. It is often true of husbands and wives, parents and children, true in the market place, at work and even in the church. Jabez had not intentionally caused pain yet he didn’t shrug and say, “Too bad, I didn’t intend to cause my Mama pain.” Instead he thought, “I don’t want to be even a remote cause of pain.Therefore Lord, bless me that I may be a blessing and not a curse.” And God who saw his motives, blessed him. So let us first choose to become people who want to be a blessing to others. Look around you: your spouse, your family, your community. Are you known for causing pain? What can you do to make things better? And from such a heart, begin to pray Jabez’s powerful prayer. Motive is important to God who searches the heart. For it is written, James 4:3 “And even when you ask, you don’t get it because your motives are all wrong—you want only what will give you pleasure.” But God, seeing your good motives, will bless you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jabez’s Prayer: That I May Not Cause Pain

  1. Deborah Clark says:

    Good Morning Adwoa,

    I so love the prayer of Jabez. May we all be so sensitive as to seek our Father’s face and humbly accept him as he shows our hearts to us in his loving Fatherly way. So we may bless and pray and live out his purpose as he created and designed us to be.
    Thank you for your faithfulness, Adwoa. I so appreciate you on so many levels.
    Blessings and much love.
    Deb C

Leave a Reply

